Connect with us


Leadership & Charity: Crosby, Fleury are Nominees for King Clancy Award



Pittsburgh Penguins trade, Sidney Crosby, Marc-Andre Fleury

Sidney Crosby is nominated for another hockey award. NHL announced it’s 31 nominees for the King Clancy award on Monday afternoon and Crosby is the Pittsburgh Penguins nominee.

The trophy is presented “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

Leadership in the locker room certainly defines Crosby.

Humanitarian contributions are also in Crosby’s wheelhouse. During the pandemic and NHL pause, Crosby made one of the most generous charitable donations in the league.

Sidney Crosby donated 100,000 meals to the Pittsburgh area foodbanks. The Penguins captain is also known for visits to Children’s Hospital and other charitable endeavors.

Former Pittsburgh Penguins goalie Marc-Andre Fleury is the Vegas nominee for the award. Fleury famously planned the donation of a playground before his Pittsburgh departure via the 2017 Expansion Draft.

A committee of senior NHL executives led by NHL commissioner Gary Bettman and deputy commissioner Bill Daly will select the winner. According to the NHL, the committee will apply the following criteria in determining the finalists and winner:

  • Clear and measurable positive impact on the community

  • Investment of time and resources

  • Commitment to a particular cause or community

  • Commitment to the League’s community initiatives

  • Creativity of programming

  • Use of influence; engagement of others

The league will announce the three finalists for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy in early August and the NHL will announce the winner during the 2020 Conference Finals.

The first-place finisher will receive a $25,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of his choice. The two runners-up each will receive a $5,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice.

The Clancy Memorial Trophy nominees are:

Anaheim: Cam Fowler

Arizona: Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Boston: Patrice Bergeron

Buffalo: Jack Eichel

Calgary: Travis Hamonic

Carolina: Jordan Staal

Chicago: Jonathan Toews

Colorado: Gabriel Landeskog

Columbus: Cam Atkinson

Dallas: Tyler Seguin

Detroit: Justin Abdelkader

Edmonton: Leon Draisaitl

Florida: Sergei Bobrovsky

Los Angeles: Trevor Lewis

Minnesota: Matt Dumba

Montreal: Carey Price

Nashville: Pekka Rinne

New Jersey: P.K. Subban

NY Islanders: Matt Martin

NY Rangers: Henrik Lundqvist

Ottawa: Brady Tkachuk

Philadelphia: Kevin Hayes

Pittsburgh: Sidney Crosby

San Jose: Evander Kane

St. Louis: Ryan O’Reilly

Tampa Bay: Alex Killorn

Toronto: Mitchell Marner

Vancouver: Alexander Edler

Vegas: Marc-Andre Fleury

Washington: Garnet Hathaway

Winnipeg: Blake Wheeler

Subscribe to PHN+

Pittsburgh Hockey Now Editor-in-Chief, formerly 93.7 The Fan, Sportsnet Hockey Tonight, NHL Home Ice. Catch Dan tweeting @theDanKingerski and the official @pghhockeynow account.

Click to comment
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments