Connect with us


UPDATED: Penguins’ Crosby, Karlsson to Play in 4 Nations Face-Off



Pittsburgh Penguins game, Erik Karlsson. Frustration, Anger. Loss to Winnipeg Jets
Erik Karlsson

Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby and defenseman Erik Karlsson were named Friday to their respective national teams for the 4 Nations Face-Off event, Crosby for Team Canada and Karlsson for Team Sweden.

The NHL and NHL Players Association on Friday announced a “first six” players from each of the four teams participating in the international tournament. Canada, Sweden, the United States and Finland will compete in February in Montreal and Boston.

Crosby, even with his 37th birthday coming in a matter of weeks, is still dominant. He led the Penguins with 94 points, including 42 goals, while playing all 82 games last season. He has a long and successful history playing for his home country, including the overtime “golden goal” at the 2010 Olympics.

He has won two Olympic gold medals and two World Championships golds. With his three Stanley Cups, Crosby is a member of the elite triple gold club.

Karlsson, 34, a three-time Norris Trophy winner, had 11 goals, 56 points playing in all 82 games in 2023-24, his first season with the Penguins. He was part of the bronze medal game at the 2024 World Championship and has extensive international experience.

The other five players announced for Team Canada are forward Nathan MacKinnon of Colorado, forward Connor McDavid of Edmonton, forward Brad Marchand of Boston forward Brayden Point of Toronto, and defenseman Cale Makar of Colorado.

Crosby and McKinnon already have been plotting Canada’s dominance.

The other five players announced for Team Sweden are defenseman Victor Hedman of Tampa Bay, defenseman Gustav Forsling of Florida, forward Filip Forsberg of Nashville, forward Mika Zibanejad of Rangers and forward William Nylander of Toronto.

The six players revealed for Team USA are forward Auston Matthews of Toronto, forward Jack Eichel of Vegas, forward Matthew Tkachuk of Florida, defenseman Quinn Hughes of Vancouver, defenseman Adam Fox of the Rangers and defenseman Charlie McAvoy of Boston.

The six players revealed for Team Finland are goaltender Juuse Saros of Nashville, defenseman Esa Lindell Dallas, Miro Heiskanen of Dallas, forward Alexsander Barkov of Florida, forward Mikko Rantanen of Colorado, and forward Sebastien Aho of Carolina.

The balance of the rosters for the participating teams will be announced between Nov. 29 and Dec. 2. Each team will feature 23 NHL Players (20 skaters, three goalies), who must be under an NHL contract for the 2024-25 season and on an NHL roster as of Dec. 2, 2024.