Connect with us


(UPDATED) Crosby Selected for NHL All-Star Game



Kris Letang (left) and Sidney Crosby (right)

Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby has been named to the Metropolitan Division team for the NHL All-Star Game in Sunrise, Fla. Feb. 4.

The selection was made by the league’s Hockey Operations Dept., which picked one player from each of the eight teams in the four divisions.

The “all-star game” actually will be a three-on-three tournament between the divisions.

This is the ninth time Crosby has been selected to participate in the all-star game, tying Jaromir Jagr for second place on the Penguins’ all-time list. Mario Lemieux, who was chosen for 13, is the only player in franchise history to be picked for more.

Evgeni Malkin has been picked eight times.

The other three skaters on each squad will be selected in fan voting, which began this evening and runs through Jan. 17. The players chosen by the fans will be announced on Jan. 19.

In previous seasons, fans had voted on the captain of each of the teams and the Hockey Ops staff had filled out the roster, with the exception of a “last man in” selected by the fans.

Tristan Jarry and Jake Guentzel represented the Pittsburgh Penguins at the 2022 all-star game.

Other members of the Metropolitan team:

Alex Ovechkin (Washington)

Igor Shesterkin (N.Y. Rangers)

Brock Nelson (N.Y. Islanders)

Johnny Gaudreau (Columbus)

Andrei Svechnikov (Carolina)

Jack Hughes (New Jersey)

Kevin Hayes (Philadelphia)

Members of the Atlantic Division squad are:

Tage Thompson (Buffalo)

Nikita Kucherov (Tampa Bay)

Linus Ullmark (Boston)

Dylan Larkin (Detroit)

Nick Suzuki (Montreal)

Mitch Marner (Toronto)

Brady Tkachuk (Ottawa)

Matthew Tkachuk (Florida)

The Central Division selections are:

Jason Robertson (Dallas)

Josh Morrissey (Winnipeg)

Cale Makar (Colorado)

Juuse Saros (Nashville)

Vladimir Tarasenko (St. Louis)

Seth Jones (Chicago)

Kirill Kaprizov (Minnesota)

Clayton Keller (Arizona)

These players will represent the Pacific Division:

Connor McDavid (Edmonton)

Nazem Kadri (Calgary)

Matty Beniers (Seattle)

Troy Terry (Anaheim)

Erik Karlsson (San Jose)

Kevin Fiala (Los Angeles)

Logan Thompson (Vegas)

Elias Pettersson (Vancouver)