Connect with us


Penguins Roster Finalized; Nearly 50% Turnover



Pittsburgh Penguins tickets NHL return

The Pittsburgh Penguins roster is set. In a sign of the offseason upheaval, the team can boast only 12 players who skated for the team last season. The team released the final roster Monday evening, and with the 12 returning players, 10 will be new.

However, after the team claimed John Ludwig on waivers from the Florida Panthers Monday afternoon, the team will carry eight defensemen and only 12 forwards.

Ludwig and Ryan Shea will be the seventh and eighth defensemen, at least for a day. The Penguins do not have an extra forward and would play with only 11 if Jake Guentzel cannot play Tuesday in the season opener.

Monday, coach Mike Sullivan said Guentzel is day-to-day. The player confirmed he would speak with coaches and trainers on Monday regarding his status.

Forwards Vinnie Hinostroza, Colin White, and Radim Zohorna, defenseman Mark Friedman, and goaltenders Magnus Hellberg and Garret Sparks have been assigned to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins of the American Hockey League.

Defenseman Owen Pickering has been assigned to the Swift Current Broncos of the Western Hockey League.

The Penguins begin the NHL regular season Tuesday at PPG Paints Arena against the Chicago Blackhawks. The puck drops just after 8 p.m.

The 12 Forwards:

10 Drew O’Connor

17 Bryan Rust

19 Reilly Smith

20 Lars Eller

43 Jansen Harkins

55 Noel Acciari

59 Jake Guentzel

67 Rickard Rakell

71 Evgeni Malkin

77 Jeff Carter

83 Matt Nieto

87 Sidney Crosby

Eight Defensemen:

John Ludwig

2 Chad Ruhwedel

5 Ryan Shea

27 Ryan Graves

28 Marcus Pettersson

58 Kris Letang

65 Erik Karlsson

73 P.O Joseph


35 Tristan Jarry

39 Alex Nedeljkovic